Governors work as part of a team with the Head Teacher. Together they determine the strategic direction of the school and establish aims, ethos, policies, procedures and performance targets that the Head and their staff must deliver on. The governing body also checks to ensure that the school is making good progress and that the things that should be happening are actually happening!

The Governing Body of Uplands Infant School formally reconstituted on 26th June 2018.

To contact the governors, please contact the school office. If you wish to write to the governors, please send your letter to the Chair of Governors, c/o Clerk to Governors, Uplands Infant School, Melbourne Road, Leicester, LE2 0DR.

Full Governing Body Details:

GovernorRoleDate of AppointmentTerm of OfficeDate Office CeasedAppointed by Relevant Business & Pecuniary Interests
Mr Khalid MahmoodChair of Governors
Co-opted Governor
01/12/20164 yearsn/aFGBWife works at school.
Mr Junaid PatelVice-Chair
Co-opted Governor
29/06/20174 yearsn/aFGBNone
Mrs Zohra AlimohamedCo-opted Governor
Pupil Premium
Sports Premium
01/06/20154 yearsn/aFGBNone
Mr Shazeeb AzizStaff Governor26/06/20184 yearsn/aFGBNone
Miss Prabha KeshavSEND
Co-opted Governor
01/06/20154 yearsn/aFGBNone
Ms Faatema MayatCo-opted Governor01/06/20154 yearsn/aFGBNone
Mrs Michelle OrtonHead Teacher 26/08/2013n/an/aFGBNone
Mrs Rafika RindeParent Governor
01/06/20154 yearsn/aParentsNone
Mr Nasir SabirLA Governor01/03/20174 yearsn/aFGBNone
Mrs Sanjeet Kalra Co-opted Governor 03/10/20184 yearsn/aFGBNone
Mrs Sarah OrtonCo-opted Governor03/10/20184 yearsn/aFGBNone
Mrs Fatima GeluParent Governor 05/10/20184 yearsn/aParentsNone

Register of Business Interests 2018/2019:

GovernorBusiness InterestsOther Educational Establishments GovernedRelationships with School Staff
Mrs Zohra AlimohamedNoneNoneNone
Mr Shazeeb AzizNoneNoneNone
Mrs Fatima GeluNoneNoneNone
Mrs Sanjeet KalraNoneNoneNone
Miss Prabha KeshavNoneNoneNone
Mr Khalid MahmoodMember of SDSA. NoneWife works at the school.
Ms Faatema MayatNoneNoneNone
Mrs Michelle OrtonNoneNoneNone
Mrs Sarah OrtonNoneNoneNone
Mr Junaid PatelNoneNoneNone
Mrs Rafika RindeNoneNoneNone
Mr Nasir SabirNoneNoneNone

Full Governing Body Attendance:

GovernorRole3 Oct 20185 Dec 201813 March 201926 June 2019
Mr Khalid Mahmood
Chair of Governors
Co-opted Governor
Mr Junaid PatelVice-Chair
Parent Governor
Mrs Zohra AlimohamedFinance Co-Chair
Co-opted Governor
Mr Shazeeb AzizStaff Governor/
Mrs Fatima GeluParent GovernorN/A
Mrs Sanjeet KalraCo-opted Governor/
Miss Prabha KeshavSEND
Co-opted Governor
Ms Faatema MayatFinance Co-Chair
Co-opted Governor
Mrs Michelle OrtonHead Teacher /
Mrs Sarah OrtonCo-opted Governor/
Mrs Rafika RindeParent GovernorA
Mr Nasir SabirLA Governor